New Executive Order Modifies Previous Travel Ban

Release Date: Thursday, Mar 09, 2017
On March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a new Executive Order entitled “Executive Order Protecting the Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into the United States.  This order supersedes the executive order of the same name issued January 27, 2017 that was subject to legal challenge.
The new Executive order is to take effect on March 16, 2017.  Highlights of this new order are:
  • It suspends entry into the United States of citizens of six countries for 90 days from March 16, 2017.  Those countries are:  Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. 
  • The US Refugee Admission Program will also be suspended for a period of 120 days. 
Individuals Exempt From This Order
The travel ban does not apply to 1) individuals who are green card holders (lawful permanent residents); 2) those who already have valid visas for entry into the United States; 3) certain individuals already present in the United States, such as lawful students or individuals with temporary worker status; 4) individuals admitted to the United States after March 16, 2017 through a case by case waiver as described in section 3 of the order; and 5)dual nationals of an affected country and a country not subject to the order, will not be affected by the ban as long as they travel on the unaffected passport with appropriate entry documents.
If you have any international travel planned, it is advisable to carry with you a letter from your employer confirming your employment, the purpose of the trip and their expectation for your return to resume your responsibilities.